Why I’ve stopped saying I’m ‘recovered’ from anorexia

Why I’ve stopped saying I’m ‘recovered’ from anorexia

My battle with anorexia came to a gradual end in around 2015, shortly before I met my boyfriend. I’d been unwell for around 3 years, after suffering a breakdown during my second year at university and having to suspend my studies for a year.

For me, there is no great marker as to when I felt I had ‘recovered,’ I didn’t wake to an epiphany that I could no longer live a life of starvation and obsession, but counselling and an understanding GP had slowly allowed me to move away from my unhealthy behaviours and back into a somewhat normality with food.

Yet for so long I used the word recovered to describe my relationship with anorexia. I never even thought twice about using this term. I was no longer actively anorexic, therefore I must be recovered. I don’t starve myself, overexercise or obsess over numbers, so I’m all fixed.

But in the last year, I have learnt that this word does not accurately describe my relationship with my old friend, anorexia, and I have shifted my language to incorporate the phrase ‘weight-restored’ more often than not.

Whilst I no longer starve myself on a daily basis, I have had multiple days in the last 12 months where I have eaten nothing at all, and it has startled me how quickly I can return to that mindset. Whereas on a normal day I love food and would count down the hours to lunch during boring days in my office, I found at times I could easily revert to an obsession with calories and survive filling my stomach with calorie-free fizzy drinks, often triggered by external stress in my life. I felt the buzz of restriction and the feeling of success at making it to the end of the day without food. I also regularly find myself considering my weight, calories in food, and how to sneak in exercise to try and reduce my weight. I have regularly paced area with the sole purpose of burning calories. Thankfully, these moments are often short-lived.

Whilst this is nowhere near my extreme behaviour during my throws of anorexia, and I’m not even slightly close to relapsing, I am now able to acknowledge that these behaviours are the result of my illness, and may not be present in a ‘healthy population.’ As such, I consider my anorexia to be under control, or in remission. It may well return one day, although I sincerely hope not, I have to admit I continue to experience some of the mental symptoms of the disorder, albeit not to the full extent of my previous experience.

‘Weight-restored’ for me is more reflective of how I feel. I am not physically experiencing anorexia; I am a healthy- (if not over-) weight individual yet I continue to have moments where anorexia sinks her destructive claws into me and I’m forced to fight her off once more. Mentally, however, I can go back to that space quickly, and just as intensely as before.  It takes a mammoth effort to silence these urges and to remind myself my life now is much healthier, happier, and freer.

This may well always be the case, and I may never feel comfortable using the term ‘recovered’ in future. And you know what, that’s okay.

L

x

4 thoughts on “Why I’ve stopped saying I’m ‘recovered’ from anorexia

  1. Hey L, loved your blog. Your honest reflection of how this feels for you and what you have noticed about being recovered from yet still facing anorexia, is comforting because it connects with so many realities.

    If you go through a day and then notice you have not eaten, may indicate you had a trigger earlier in the day, morning or night before…and this may be helpful to reflect on.

    I know when I am internalizing stress/anxiety/self doubt because I become VERY structured around planning meals and timings for activity to fill every waking hour! So when I start planning I now pause and check why I am doing this.

    Thanks for the reminder that this is a work-in-progress way of coping with and overcoming learned ways of coping/surviving/getting through tough times.

    Like

Leave a comment